When bread gets squashed…

image

A few days ago, my little precious 2-year-old found a new loaf of bread I’d just bought and decided to be Goliath on it. He threw the pack on the ground and started jumping on it happily. I had just gone into the room for a short while. When I saw him doing that, I immediately yelled at him to Stop. He didn’t seem to realise what he’d done – destroyed my new loaf of bread!

I pulled them out slice by slice and tried to shape them back, but it was futile. They were gone. Squashed by a giant. So I did what I do with every detail of my life – posted a status update on Facebook. “What do you do with bread that has been stomped on by a two-year-old?” And got a few helpful suggestions, including feeding it to koi, making bread crumbs, making croutons (that was my own suggestion) and making bread pudding.

In the end, the bread pudding won out. So today I cut up the rest of the bread (we had some mangled pieces of toast the last 2 days) and made my first bread pudding.

And it turned out pretty good. I like it and am eating it even as I’m writing.

There is even a lesson we can learn from this. When something looks seemingly hopeless and useless, there can still be use for it. When God looks at us, he sees the potential that is in us. We’re not squashed up bread that has been stomped upon beyond recognition by the giant. We’re potential yummy bread pudding, fit for a king (maybe not mine, but you get the drift)! God can turn what the enemy has meant for evil, God can turn around for good (Genesis 50:20).

Anyway here is the recipe, it’s really easy to make. It’s from the ever reliable www.allrecipes.com. I’ve downloaded an app for the iPad from it! Good to use 🙂

Bread Pudding

Ingredients:

1 (1 pound) loaf white bread, torn into small pieces

1 quart hot milk (about 950ml)

3 eggs, beaten

2 cups white sugar

2 tbp vanilla extract

1 cup raisins

3 tbp margarine

Directions:

1) Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (175 degrees C).

2) In a large mixing bowl, pour hot milk over bread. Blend eggs, sugar and vanilla. Stir egg mixture into the bread mixture and blend well. Add raisins. Mix well.

3) Melt the margarine and pour into a 9×13-inch pan. Pour bread mixture over margarine. Bake for 40 minutes, until firm and golden brown. Serve hot or cold.

Enjoy!

One thought on “When bread gets squashed…

  1. Hey I told you about the app! Haha.
    And hmm I was thinking whether I saw Evan actually jump before. Like with both feet off the ground leh.

Leave a Reply

